2019-2020 Subcommittees

The HCIE organizes into subcommittees each academic year to work on particular goals. Each subcommittee includes faculty, students, and staff and works closely with the university leadership.  The 2019-2020 Council formed two subcommittees:

Graduate Student to Faculty (GS2F)

Recommend departmental and institutional practices/policies that facilitate recruitment/hiring, development, and advancement of URM and women students, postdocs and faculty. Identify institutional impediments to student and faculty diversity and develop strategies that can be executed at the school and departmental level. This committee will also focus on the varied career pathways from graduate student to senior professor.

  • Reports about faculty hires, promotions, and departures disaggregated by race, ethnicity, and gender
  • Build institutional capacity for culture change by identifying key areas for interventions in URM faculty recruitment and development (strategic high-impact initiatives)
  • Systematically assess quantitative and qualitative data to identify problem areas with regard to diversity goals, recruitment of URM groups, retention/advancement, and perceptions of the work environment
  • Identify and collaborate with important faculty groups/committees and leadership to implement policy changes
  • Implement best practices that embed diversity into the institutional fabric (keep diversity at the core, linking process to institutional priorities)

Rina Agarwala
Jeremy Brown
Kendall Free
Jeff Gray
Jocelyn Haversat
Rigoberto Hernandez
Jeanne-Marie Jackson
Rachel Karchin
Christine Kavanaugh
Natalie Strobach
Elmer Zapata Mercado

Climate, Culture, and Campus Experience (C3E)

Identify ways to better understand our campus environment and document how various members of the community (students, graduate students, postdocs, staff, and faculty) feel about their experiences at Homewood. Develop ways to assess the climate and leverage these data.

  • Climate surveys, perceptions of institutional environment, engagement, and quality of experience
  • Develop mechanism for reporting and sharing information on diversity progress to inform initiatives and decision making
  • Identify intellectual gaps in class offerings, encourage student enrollment in courses that engage diversity, and assess options for developing questions about inclusion in course evaluations

Moses Davis (Co-Chair)
Suhas Eswarappa Prameela (Co-Chair)
Trevor Mackesey (Co-Chair)
Mia Boloix
Kiana Boroumand
Lael Ensor-Bennett
Keri Frisch
Richard Helman
Camille Mathis
Nathan Mudrak
Naisa Rahman
Darlene Saporu
Madelynn Wellons
Homayra Ziad