Departmental Diversity Champions

The Krieger and Whiting Schools launched a Diversity Champions initiative to ensure that progress is being made in achieving our departmental and school-wide goals in the areas of climate, diversity, and inclusion. The primary role of the diversity champion is to help facilitate culture transformation around issues of equity and inclusion. As critical thought leaders, diversity champions work with their chair to advance departmental diversity and inclusion goals. Champions will collaborate with the HCIE and serve as a resource for addressing inclusion issues that affect departmental climate. The Champions provide periodic reports to the dean’s office regarding progress toward or challenges arising for the action plan goals.

Specifically, this effort will focus on achieving diversity and inclusion goals in:

      • graduate student recruitment and retention,
      • faculty mentoring and retention, and
      • departmental climate.

Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Anthropology

Clara Han
Associate Professor
Mergenthaler 463
410-516-2864
clarahan@jhu.edu
Biology

Karen Beemon
Professor
Biology East 20A
410-516-7289
klb@jhu.edu
Biophysics

 Margaret Johnson
Assistant Professor
Merganthaler 121C
410-516-2376
margaret.johnson@jhu.edu
Chemistry

Rigoberto Hernandez
Gompf Family Professor of Chemistry
Mergenthaler 121
410-516-4018
r.hernandez@jhu.edu
Classics

Emily S. K. AndersonEmily S. K. Anderson
Assistant Professor
Acting Director of Undergraduate Studies
Gilman 190
410-516-5691
emily.anderson@jhu.edu

Cognitive Science

Colin Wilson
Associate Professor;  Director of Undergraduate Studies
Krieger 247
410-516-5331
colin@cogsci.jhu.edu

Comparative Thought and Literature

Yi-Ping Ong
Assistant Professor
Gilman 218
410-516-6500

 yi-ping.ong@jhu.edu

Earth and Planetary Sciences

Kevin Lewis
Assistant Professor
Olin Hall 229
410-516-5274
klewis@jhu.edu

Economics

Laurence Ball
Department Chair,  Professor
Wyman Park Building 566
410-516-7605
lball@jhu.edu

English

Mark Thompson
Professor
Gilman 16
410-516-6237
mcthompson@jhu.edu

German Romance Language and Literature

Bécquer SeguínBécquer Seguín
Assistant Professor
Gilman 481
410-516-8571
becquer@jhu.edu
History

Ronald WaltersRonald Walters
Professor
Gilman 302
410-516-7588
rgw1@jhu.edu

History of Art

Rebecca Brown
Associate Professor
Gilman 182
410-516-0345
rmbrown@jhu.edu

History of Science and Technology

Maria M. Portuondo
Associate Professor and Chair
Gilman 374
410-516-7503
mportuondo@jhu.edu

Math

Jacob BernsteinJacob Bernstein
Associate Professor
Krieger 408
410-516-6089
bernstein@math.jhu.edu

Emily Riehl
Assistant Professor
Krieger 312
410-516-7879
eriehl@math.jhu.edu

Mind Brain Institute

Dr. Veit Stuphorn
Associate Professor
Krieger 338
410-516-7089
veit@jhu.edu

Near Eastern Studies

Michael Harrower
Assistant Professor of Archaeology
Gilman 140
410-516-7500
mharrower@jhu.edu

Philosophy

Richard Bett
Professor of Philosophy and Chair
Gilman 202
410-516-6863
rbett1@jhu.edu

Political Science

Bentley Allan
Assistant Professor
Merganthaler 271
410-516-5837
bentley.allan@jhu.edu

Psychology and Brain Sciences

Jonathan Flombaum
Associate Professor
Ames 200A
410-516-8111
flombaum@jhu.edu

Sociology

Emily Agree
Research Professor
Mergenthaler 558
410-516-5832
emily.agree@jhu.edu

Writing Seminars

Dora Malech
Assistant Professor
Gilman 80
410-516-0820
dmalech1@jhu.edu

Physics and Astronomy

Tim Heckman
Dr. A. Hermann Pfund Professor and Department Chair
Bloomberg 523
410-516-7369
heckman@pha.jhu.edu

Whiting School of Engineering

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Jeffrey Gray
Professor
Maryland Hall 208
410-516-531
jgray@jhu.edu
Electrical and Computer Engineering

Jim West
Professor
410-516-8546
jimwest@jhu.edu

Biomedical Engineering

Rachel Karchin
Associate Professor, The William R. Brody Faculty Scholar
Hackerman Hall 217A
410-516-5578
karchin@jhu.edu

Applied Mathematics and Statistics

Nicolas Charon
Assistant Professor
Clark Hall 317B
410-516-7848
charon@cis.jhu.edu

Mechanical Engineering

Vicky Nguyen
Associate Professor
Latrobe Hall 125
410-516-4538
vicky.nguyen@jhu.edu

Civil Engineering

Sauleh Siddiqui
Assistant Professor
Latrobe Hall 109
410-516-6411
siddiqui@jhu.edu

Computer Science

Michael Dinitz
Assistant Professor
Malone 217
410-516-6251
mdinitz@cs.jhu.edu

Environmental Health and Engineering

Sarah Preheim
Assistant Professor
Ames Hall 207
410-516-6632
sprehei1@jhu.edu

Materials Science and Engineering

Jim Spicer
Professor
Maryland Hall 101D
410-516-8524
spicer@jhu.edu

JHU Information Security Institute

Anton Dahbura
Executive Director, JHUISI
Malone 167
(410) 516-0211
AntonDahbura@jhu.edu